Horarium
  • Monday - Friday

    7:00am Mass & Morning Prayer
    12:00pm Rosary
    12:15pm Midday Prayer
    5:30pm Office of Readings / Evening Prayer
    9:00pm Night Prayer (except Friday)
  • Saturday

    8:00am Mass & Morning Prayer
    12:00pm Office of Readings / Midday Prayer
    5:20pm Rosary
    5:40pm Evening Prayer
  • Sunday

    8:30am Office of Readings / Morning Prayer
    11:15am Mass
    5:20pm Rosary
    5:40pm Evening Prayer
    9:00pm Night Prayer
Calendar
  • Thursday, April 17

    Holy Thursday

    No Classes; Offices and Library Closed

  • Friday, April 18

    Good Friday

    No Classes; Offices and Library Closed

  • Monday, April 21

    Easter Monday

    No Classes; Offices and Library Closed

  • Tuesday-Wednesday, April 22-23

    Reading Days - No classes

    No Classes; Offices and Library Open

  • Friday-Saturday, April 25-26

    St. Francis of Assisi and the Western Tradition

    Thomistic Institute Conference at NYU Catholic Center

  • Saturday, April 26

    6:30 p.m. Fourth Annual Dominican Spring Gala

  • Monday-Friday, April 28-May 2

    Course Evaluation Week

  • Friday, May 2

    Classes End

  • Monday, May 5

    Reading Day

  • Tuesday-Friday, May 6-9

    Final Exam Week

  • Friday, May 9

    Semester Ends

  • Monday, May 12

    All Grades Due

  • Monday-Friday, May 12-16

    Special Exam Week

  • Friday, May 16

    Commencement

  • Friday, May 23

    Priesthood Ordinations

    Offices and Library Closed

  • Monday, May 26

    Memorial Day

    Offices and Library Closed

  • Tuesday, May 27

    Summer Session Begins

  • Monday, June 2

    Classes Begin

  • Friday, July 4

    Independence Day

    No Classes; Offices and Library Closed

  • Friday, July 25

    Summer Session Ends

  • Monday, July 28

    All Grades Due (3:00 PM)

  • August 1-22

    No Public Hours for Library

  • Saturday, August 23

    9:30am - New Student Orientation

    Library Opens

  • Monday, August 25

    Classes Begin

    5 p.m. - Opening Mass of the Holy Spirit

  • Monday, September 1

    Labor Day

    No Classes; Offices and Library Closed

About the Library

The Dominican Theological Library (DTL) began as the faculty library of the Dominican House of Studies at Somerset, Ohio, in 1834. It was moved to Washington, D.C., with the establishment of the current House of Studies in 1905. Our faculty became a Pontifical Faculty of Theology in 1941, and is also civilly accredited. A new wing for the Faculty and Library was dedicated in 2009.   The DTL holds approximately 54,000 volumes in its circulating collection, as well as some 2,500 titles in its specialized Reference, Dominican and Rare Books collections. We also receive many scholarly journals.   The DTL is a member of the Washington Theological Consortium and of the Higher Education Library Information Network (HELIN).

Today many libraries are better described as information centers or media centers. While the DTL employs some new information technologies and new media, it remains, above all, a traditional library: a place for books and for the rigorous acquisition of learning. All our collections, services, and facilities are meant to foster serious and recollected study in the service of the Gospel.

Library Hours

Monday            8:30 am - 9:00 pm

Tuesday           8:30 am - 9:00 pm

Wednesday     8:30 am - 9:00 pm

Thursday         8:30 am - 6:00 pm

Friday              8:30 am - 6:00 pm

Saturday         9:00 am - 1:00 pm

 

Spring Break Hours (March 3rd - 7th)

The Library will be open from 8:30 am to 6:00 pm, Monday through Friday, with regular hours on Saturday, March 1st and 8th.

 

For questions about the Dominican Theological Library schedule information, dial 202-495-3824.